Travel Ban

On January 27, President Donald Trump introduced a travel ban to temporarily block people from seven countries from coming into the United States, even if they have a green card. This ban was temporarily put in place to block immigrants from Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia, Yemen, and Iraq. This ban is controversial because the majority of the seven countries’ population is muslim and some people view this as an act against Islam. Protests in the Supreme Court by Democrats, major airports such as Dulles International Airport, San Francisco International Airport, and JFK International Airport and in the streets of Columbus, London, and New York showed the controversy of this issue.
The travel ban was blocked by federal judge James Robart. “The court concludes that the circumstances brought before it today are such that it must intervene to fulfill its constitutional role in our tripart government,” said Robart in an official statement. However, this block to the travel ban is temporary, and a new order with slight adjustments is being made by President Trump. Homeland Security Secretary John Kelly said Trump is working on a “tighter, more streamlined version of the first executive order.”